Fork and Cork 2017

The past weekend I traveled back to Blacksburg, Virginia to visit my brother at Virginia Tech (go Hokies!). This was my first time back since September; my first time back without really knowing any one at the school besides my brother’s class (no friends). But there are always new friends to be made in Blacksburg, Virginia and that was exactly what happened at Fork and Cork.

After a gorgeous day hiking at Mcafee’s Knob and a night of crazy downtown festivities, my brother and I went to Fork and Cork, an annual wine festival held in Blacksburg, Virginia, on the Virginia Tech campus.

IMG_1577 IMG_1579.JPGIMG_1599

If you have never been to Fork and Cork, or even Virginia Tech…you. must. go! It is a full day of all you can drink wine tastings from the local wineries. You don’t even have to be an expert on wine to enjoy this event.

IMG_1641.JPG

I sure wasn’t.

Local bands gathered on a stage to perform, local food trucks lined up to serve amazing lunch and dinner, the hosts at the different winery booths served a hefty tasting, and the community made you feel right at home.

IMG_1614.JPG

So if you have ever wanted to visit Virginia Tech, I definitely recommend going for Fork and Cork. This is an experience you do not want to miss. You will definitely be seeing me there.

IMG_1666.JPG

Now off to Virginia Tech again this weekend for my brother’s graduation (I cannot get enough).

hokie bird.jpg

Are there any fun community events at your school? Tell me about it!

 

PJ

Twitter: @patjohnswrites

Instagram: @patrickjohnswrites

Website: http://patrickjohnswrites.com/

 

Leave a Reply

