Movie Review: Room

I have finally gotten around to watching this movie after a friend reminded me about it the other day. It is free on Amazon Prime so I thought why not give it a try. It already had me sold after seeing Kong: Skull Island with my new celebrity crush, Brie Larson.

Brie Larson

She is perfect.

Room is about a woman and a young baby held captive in an enclosed space and finally gain their freedom, letting the boy experience the outside world for the first time.

When I went into this movie, I thought it would be mainly about the woman (Brie Larson) and less about the boy’s experience. I thought it would be more about the struggle of the mother and her kidnapper. Even though the kidnapper wasn’t in it as much as I thought he would be, he still gave a creepy vibe through out the movie, knowing the kidnapper would come back.

The boy was born into the small shed and knew nothing about the outside world. When his mother tried to explain there were other things out there beyond the room, the boy would getĀ stressed because he couldn’t comprehend or picture any of it. It was interesting trying to put yourself inside the boy’s shoes to really imagine what he was feeling.

I thought it was a powerful movie. The acting was amazing. I thought the boy should have won an award for his performance in and outside of the room.

My favorite part was how they went back to the room at the end of the movie to look at it one last time. I didn’t expect the boy to miss it, but it made sense. That was where the boy grew up. That was his real home. And I loved how he asked his mother if that really was the room they had stayed in because it was so tiny. The room really did seem to shrink at the end of the movie after being exposed to the rest of the world.

A creepy, yet inspiring movie. I definitely recommend this great flick.

What were your thoughts about the movie?

Thanks for tuning in,

Pat

 

 

Leave a Reply

